Here runs the future.

«SwissTrolley plus» – a battery trolleybus

The «SwissTrolley plus» combines proven overhead line engineering with state-of-the-art battery technology. Drawing on the combined expertise of industry, research and transportation companies, the future of bus drives can be shaped actively while making a major contribution to Switzerland’s energy goals for 2050.

The vehicle is currently under construction at the workshops of Carrosserie Hess in Bellach. From early 2017, it will undergo testing on a number of lines of the Zurich Public Transport network.

What is special about the «SwissTrolley plus»?

The «SwissTrolley plus» is a flagship project supported by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy and aims to build a 100% electromobile vehicle made in Switzerland with sustainable components and controls. Its high-performance traction battery permits operation without a trolley system. Moreover, up to 15 percent of energy can be saved through regenerative braking. As a result, the «SwissTrolley plus» enables more cost-efficient, reliable and flexible operation of trolleybus lines.

The high-performance battery required for this purpose is designed such that, in addition to driving in battery mode, current spikes from the trolley system are flattened. In this way, the Swiss Trolley plus substantially reduces the load on the power grid. Energy savings are also achieved thanks to GPS-based and self-learning energy management.

 

Partners

The «SwissTrolley plus» project was launched by Carrosserie HESS AG in cooperation with Zurich Public Transport (VBZ). For partners ETH Zurich and Bern University of Applied Sciences, the project serves as a research platform for studies in the fields of control and optimisation, as well as battery technology.

The Swiss Federal Office of Energy supports the project within the scope of its funding programmes to promote energy research and flagship projects. The overarching aim is to make the energy future of Switzerland visible and tangible both in professional circles and among the general public.

A project by:

Supported by:

Contact – Do you have any questions?

For information relating to the Swiss Trolley plus project, please contact: info@swisstrolleyplus.ch

L’avenir est en route ici.

«SwissTrolley plus» – un trolleybus à batterie

Le «SwissTrolley plus» est le fruit de la technique avérée de la caténaire, conjuguée à la technologie des batteries de dernière génération. L’alliance des savoir-faire issus de l’industrie, de la recherche et des entreprises de transport, permet d’œuvrer activement pour l’avenir de la propulsion des bus et d’apporter une contribution majeure aux objectifs de la Stratégie énergétique 2050 fixés par la Confédération.

Le véhicule est en cours de fabrication dans les ateliers de Carrosserie Hess AG de Bellach. Dès le début de l’année 2017, il sera testé sur différentes lignes du réseau des entreprises de transport de Zurich (VBZ).

En quoi «SwissTrolley plus» se distingue-t-il?

«SwissTrolley plus» est un projet phare soutenu par l’Office fédéral de l’énergie. Il a pour objectif la fabrication en Suisse d’un véhicule électrique propre, doté de composants et de systèmes de commande durables. Sa batterie de traction haute performance permet une circulation sans caténaire. Son système de récupération d’énergie de freinage permet par ailleurs d’économiser jusqu’à 15 % d’énergie. Le «SwissTrolley plus» assure donc une exploitation des lignes de trolleybus à la fois plus efficace au niveau des coûts, plus fiable et plus flexible.

La batterie haute performance est conçue pour permettre, en plus du fonctionnement en mode traction, le nivellement des pics de charge de la caténaire. Le «SwissTrolley plus» déchargera ainsi considérablement le réseau électrique. Un système de gestion d’énergie à autoapprentissage reposant sur un GPS se traduira par une économie d’énergie supplémentaire.

 

Partenaires: Qui sont-ils?

Le projet «SwissTrolley plus» a été initié par Carrosserie HESS AG en collaboration avec les entreprises de transport de Zurich (VBZ). Les partenaires ETH Zurich et la Haute école spécialisée bernoise l’ont utilisé comme plateforme de recherche pour mener des études dans les domaines des systèmes de commande, de l’optimisation et de la technologie des batteries.

L’Office fédéral de l’énergie OFEN encourage la démarche dans le cadre de ses programmes de soutien à la recherche énergétique et aux projets phares. Ceci dans l’optique de visibiliser, pour les milieux spécialisés et la population, les moyens de façonner l’avenir énergétique de la Suisse.

Un projet de:

Soutenu par

Contact

Pour toute information sur le projet «SwissTrolley plus», veuillez vous adresser à: info@swisstrolleyplus.ch