Here runs the future.

«SwissTrolley plus» – a battery trolleybus

The «SwissTrolley plus» combines proven overhead line engineering with state-of-the-art battery technology. Drawing on the combined expertise of industry, research and transportation companies, the future of bus drives can be shaped actively while making a major contribution to Switzerland’s energy goals for 2050.

The vehicle is currently under construction at the workshops of Carrosserie Hess in Bellach. From early 2017, it will undergo testing on a number of lines of the Zurich Public Transport network.

What is special about the «SwissTrolley plus»?

The «SwissTrolley plus» is a flagship project supported by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy and aims to build a 100% electromobile vehicle made in Switzerland with sustainable components and controls. Its high-performance traction battery permits operation without a trolley system. Moreover, up to 15 percent of energy can be saved through regenerative braking. As a result, the «SwissTrolley plus» enables more cost-efficient, reliable and flexible operation of trolleybus lines.

The high-performance battery required for this purpose is designed such that, in addition to driving in battery mode, current spikes from the trolley system are flattened. In this way, the Swiss Trolley plus substantially reduces the load on the power grid. Energy savings are also achieved thanks to GPS-based and self-learning energy management.

 

Partners

The «SwissTrolley plus» project was launched by Carrosserie HESS AG in cooperation with Zurich Public Transport (VBZ). For partners ETH Zurich and Bern University of Applied Sciences, the project serves as a research platform for studies in the fields of control and optimisation, as well as battery technology.

The Swiss Federal Office of Energy supports the project within the scope of its funding programmes to promote energy research and flagship projects. The overarching aim is to make the energy future of Switzerland visible and tangible both in professional circles and among the general public.

A project by:

Supported by:

Contact – Do you have any questions?

For information relating to the Swiss Trolley plus project, please contact: info@swisstrolleyplus.ch

Hier fährt die Zukunft.

«SwissTrolley plus» – ein Batterie-Trolleybus

Der «SwissTrolley plus» kombiniert bewährte Fahrleitungstechnik mit modernster Batterietechnologie. Dank gebündeltem Know-how von Industrie, Forschung und Verkehrsunternehmen kann die Zukunft des Busantriebes aktiv mitgestaltet und ein wesentlicher Beitrag an die Energieziele 2050 des Bundes geleistet werden.

Das Fahrzeug wird in den Montagehallen der Firma HESS in Bellach gebaut. Ab Anfang 2017 ist er im Testbetrieb auf unterschiedlichen Linien im Netz der Verkehrsbetriebe Zürich unterwegs.

Was ist besonders am «SwissTrolley plus»?

Der «SwissTrolley plus» ist ein vom Bundesamt für Energie unterstütztes Leuchtturmprojekt für die Realisierung eines reinen Elektromobilitätsfahrzeugs aus Schweizer Produktion mit nachhaltigen Komponenten und Steuerungen. Seine Hochleistungs-Traktionsbatterie erlaubt Fahrten ohne Fahrleitung. Durch regeneratives Bremsen kann ausserdem bis zu 15 Prozent Energie eingespart werden. Dadurch erlaubt der «SwissTrolley plus» einen kosteneffizienteren, zuverlässigeren und flexibleren Betrieb von Trolleybus-Linien.

Die dafür notwendige Hochleistungsbatterie wird so konzipiert, dass zusätzlich zum Fahren im Batteriemodus die Stromspitzen der Fahrleitung abgeflacht werden. Somit entlastet der «SwissTrolley plus» das Stromnetz wesentlich. Durch ein GPS-basiertes und selbstlernendes Energiemanagement wird zusätzlich Energie eingespart.

 

Die Partner

Das Projekt «SwissTrolley plus» wurde von der Carrosserie HESS AG in Zusammenarbeit mit den Verkehrsbetrieben Zürich (VBZ) lanciert. Die Partner ETH Zürich und Berner Fachhochschule nutzen das Projekt als Forschungsplattform für Untersuchungen in den Bereichen Steuerung und Optimierung sowie Batterietechnologie.

Das Bundesamt für Energie BFE unterstützt das Vorhaben im Rahmen seiner Förderprogramme für Energieforschung und Leuchtturmprojekte. Damit soll sowohl in Fachkreisen als auch in der Bevölkerung konkret sichtbar gemacht werden, wie sich die Energiezukunft der Schweiz gestalten lässt.

Ein Projekt von:

Unterstützt durch: